Keith’s RTW Packing List

Over the years as I’ve traveled the world and backpacked the Rocky Mountains, I’ve slowly been improving the quality and decreasing the weight of the things I carry with me. Many before me have spent a lot of time sharing their own experiences. In a minor effort to give back, I’ve detailed the gear that I am taking on my trip and have created a checklist for the aspiring Round the World traveler.  This will also serve as my own reference for future trips. IMG_0014This is a living list, and will change as I go. Obviously starting my trip in the summer in Japan and Southeast Asia has allowed me to pack lighter than I would if I was traveling to Europe in the winter. I’ve also decided to leave the majority of camping gear at home such as a sleeping bag, tarp and stove. My hope is that I will be able to rent or purchase them when I’m in a region where I really expect to be sleeping outside. The grand total of my pack falls between 20-25 pounds based on what I’m wearing and how much food/water/books I am carrying.

I’d appreciate any suggestions or feedback from your own experience!

Clothing (Wearing):

Wicking T-shirt Sugoi Basic T 4.9
Polo Shirt REI Mojave Polo 7.9
Trekking Pants North Face Autumn Trekker 11.4
Boxers EXOfficio 2.6
Socks Backcountry Cocona 1.2
Trekking Shoes North Face Vindicator + Superfeet 34
Hat North Face Hat 2.1
Watch Timex Expedition .9
Total: 65.0 ounces

In the Pack:

Clothing:

Long Sleeve Shirt REI Mojave Tech 8.8
Quick Dry Shorts Sherpa Adventure 11.4
Jeans Guess 20.6
Cotton T Gap 6.0
Quick Dry T Champion C9 4.1
Boxers (2) EXOfficio 5.2
Wool Socks Smartwool PhD 3.0
Wicking Socks Backcountry Cocona 1.2
Swimsuit Nike 4.7
Rain Jacket Marmot Precip 11.7
Wind / Fleece Jacket Marmot DriClime 9.6
Flip Flops North Face Base Camp 15.2
Bandana .8
Total: 102.3 ounces

Packs and Cases:

Travel Pack Osprey Stratos 40 50
Pack Cover Equinox Ultralite 2.5
Security PacSafe 85 18.7
Draw-String Day Pack Adidas 2.8
Waterproof Stuff sacks (4) AlokSak 1.8
Zip-Locks/Garbage bags/Stuff Sacks 3
Camera case LowePro Ridge 10 2.7
Laptop Case Neoprene Sleeve 3.1
Total: 84.6 ounces

Electronics:

Laptop Samsung NC10 58.5
MP3 Player iPod Touch 4.4
GPS Geko 301 3.3
Camera Canon SD780is 4.4
USB Thumb Drive 1
USB Wires/Chargers 9.2
Total: 80.8 ounces

Travel Gear:

Sunglasses Rudy Project Zyon 1.4
Sunglass Case 2.7
Headlamp Petzel Tikka Plus 2.7
Water Bladder Platypus Big Zip 2L 5.7
Binoculars Burton Scope 2.3
Quick-Dry Towel Sea to Summit DryLite 5.6
Silk Sleep Sheet Sea to Summit Liner 5.7
Master Lock 2
First Aid / Repair 6.3
Toiletries/Rx’s 23
Snacks Cliffbars/EmergenC 13
Travel Documents 5.4
Total 75.8 ounces

References:

Marc’s RTW Packing List

Packing List – Travellerspoint

Mantra of a Minimalist

50 Greatest Travel Gadgets of 2008

Another 26 Travel Gadgets Every Geek Needs

3 thoughts on “Keith’s RTW Packing List

  1. keith! how funny i just sent you a list of handy supplies. you’re bringing a laptop?!?!? holy smokes!
    please tell me that you will pick up permetherin clothing spray for mosquitoes and ticks. and some deet. dengue fever gets thumbs down!
    and a pillow.
    i love eagle creek’s half cube clothing organizers. please tell me you’re bringing more clothes than you have listed! stinker! don’t forget thermals!

  2. Pingback: The Packing List: What To Pack? | Budget Your Trip

Leave a comment